As security is our highest priority, all communication is encrypted. Whenever your data travels between our server and your phone, or we download your transactions from your bank, it’s done only through encrypted channels so nobody can see the data on the way. Once your data gets to our server, it’s stored and also encrypted so only authorized users can access it. We only use reliable providers to host our servers. Right now, we use the Google Cloud Platform which meets the strictest security compliance policies.
Add an additional security level by setting up a 4 digit pass code in Spendee or even use biometric authentication like fingerprint or FaceID (if your device supports it). We highly recommend to do so to prevent exposure of your data.
It is completely up to you how long you want to use the Spendee app. You can cancel or close your account any time by letting us know at firstname.lastname@example.org or doing it yourself in the web app.
When you delete your Spendee account, all your personal data, accounts, and transactions will be immediately and permanently deleted.
We work with all financial account information in a read-only mode to be able to check your account balance and download lists of transactions. However, we are not able to initiate payments or manipulate your account in any other way.
The only minimum required amount of sensitive data (login credentials) is stored, only if you opt in to do so. For some banks, you have to give us your password, to be able to access the bank data. In this case, the password is stored only in safe, encrypted storage. For directly connected banks we don’t even see your password. You login directly in your bank and we receive just an authorization token with limited life-time.